If You Like Pina Coladas…


Can you bring one over here? I’d like one. But a virgin one, please. At Moody we aren’t allowed to drink (not to mention that I’m under age). Something sweet and full of coconut wonderfulness is just what I need to end my week. There are so many things to do and so little time.

This week has been a week of forgetfulness and sleeping through my alarm. It happened yesterday. And it happened today. This morning I awoke at 9:00AM and it hit me that I was supposed to be at work at 8AM. Bummer. And this is the second morning in a row. So I jumped out of bed (literally, I’m on the top bunk) and raced to the showers (at a very slow gait). After showering, I returned to my room to get ready for the day, as my roommate was. I must confess we didn’t say a word to each other. I am of the belief it is because we were both exhausted. I don’t know how other roommates get on, but usually we say something. Even if it’s only, “I need to use the sink. Could you move for a moment?” It was rather a strange morning. It’s been a strange week, with me not rising at an appropriate hour.  I don’t know what’s going on, but flying out of the dorm in 30 degree weather with wet hair doesn’t make me happy. So I need to start waking up on time. Any ideas?

I just wanted to let y’all know that I’m well on my way when it comes to my reading challenges. I am currently reading The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak. It’s told from Death’s perspective which is simply fascinating to me. I’m quite excited to finish. It will count for my Historical Fiction Challenge, located here. I have also started, though I’m only two or three pages in, Jane and the Unpleasantness at Scargrave Manor. I must say that Stephanie Barron is very inventive with her little tale advocating that the story is real. I must admit that reading these books is not high on my priority list, seeing as how my Systematic Theology homework is slowly, but surely, taking over my life.

I am only on the second week of school and already my life is hectic to the point of insanity. I’m constantly tired, always procrastinating. This I suppose is how real life will be. I don’t have the free time that seems to plague my friends. Although, they always seem to make good use of their free time. I, on the other hand, wile my time away with movies and books and other ridiculousness that probably should be avoided. This is not to say that I don’t do my homework, I do. All of my homework gets done in a timely manner. It’s just I don’t do it in as timely a manner as other people I know. I think that Saturday shall be a time for me to do homework and NOT read novels. I feel very much like Catherine Morland. Except that she could afford it and I cannot. I have no rich friends to provide for me. Oh well.

This is me, signing off. If you have any lovely ideas for how I might wake up on time, I’d be delighted to hear them.

One thought on “If You Like Pina Coladas…

  1. Saintly Scott says:

    You could get a really annoying alarm clock and put it where you can not reach it from your bed so you have to get up…or at least annoy your roommate enough for her to get you up.

    Also something that helps me a lot (besides what I just told because I do that too) is to go to bed on time :). Imagine that! Just teasing.

    Hope you solve your problem, or I imagine you soon won’t have a job.

    By the way I’m on page 74 of your NaNoWriMo book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

