So long 2010, and thanks for all the fish.


Tonight, dear readers, is the last night of a truly remarkable year. My life has been a strange wonderful journey that has gotten me to a point that I never thought I’d reach. I’m an author. A real one. I’ve written a three-act stage play and a 50,000 word novel. I’ve written countless papers and articles and I think that next semester I’m going to write free-lance articles for our school paper. I have an internship with Moody Publishing, of all places, and I have been educating in Marketing. I know that I still have a lot to learn, but I love what I do. It’s the first job I have ever loved. I am on my way to becoming financially independent from my parents (though it will still be a year before I’ve actually managed that). I’ve read countless books and more non-fiction than I think I’ve ever read in my life. Tonight, I’ll be updating my list of books that I’ve read this year. I might do a few reviews as well.

God has been so good to me this year. My mom told me recently that she doesn’t worry about me anymore, because God just seems to provide for me, even when I do nothing. I thought about it and realized that it’s true. I didn’t have a job and got one out of an internship that didn’t actually count for credit for me. I didn’t have the money for school and God blessed me with two wonderful parents who agreed to pay for me this year. I struggled with many many things and God gave me amazing friends who deal with my dramatic outbursts and encourage me constantly (and also metaphorically slap me in the face when needed. This is an invaluable trait in a friend). And when I’m walking and need to talk to Him, but am avoiding it, He makes certain that all my calls aren’t received and that I don’t get any calls until our conversation is over. He watches out for me in ways I can’t even begin to comprehend. It’s crazy. That’s what it is.

I don’t know that I’m getting any wiser. I think I’m getting more mature though. I’m starting to see what my irresponsibility has cost people around me and I’m sorry for it. I hope that this next year I can do better and start to be more of an independent person. This year I’ve come to the distinct realization that I like who I am. I’ve always been comfortable with myself, but I really enjoy being me and making no apologies for it. I’m a crazy person. I spent a month writing a book. I dance in the street, in the grocery store, in my room and I have fun doing it. I sing at the top of my lungs, even if I’m off key, for fun. I don’t think that there is anything to be embarrassed about doing what I do, and I am so grateful that I’ve come to this realization. For the last year or so I was a little lost. I looked too much to the approval of others. I sincerely hope I’m over it for good.

This year has been truly spectacular and I’m very excited for the year ahead. I have three New Year’s resolutions: 1. Finish the editing of my Nanowrimo book, currently titled Raina, and get it into the hands of some part of the publishing industry,  2. Stop drinking soda, and 3. Go to the gym on a regular basis. Profound, I know. There are also several books I want to read, but I don’t think that I need to make a resolution to read them, because my very character is resolved to be in a constant state of reading. I want to read something by Kant. He formed our post-modern philosophy and it seems important that I read something that he wrote. I want to read more by Carolyn McCulley. I want to finish Utopia by Sir Thomas More and The Secret Garden by Francis Hodgens Burnett. So, here, for your pleasure, is a list of books that I want to read by exact title, that I have not started yet:

  1. On Writing by Stephen King
  2. Did I Kiss Marriage Goodbye? by Carolyn McCulley
  3. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte
  4. Let God Be God by Ray Stedman
  5. Bleak House by Charles Dickens
  6. Ruth by Elizabeth Gaskell
  7. Sanford by Jane Austen
  8. The Taming of the Shrew by William Shakespeare
  9. Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott
  10. Tess of the D’Ubervilles by Thomas Hardy
  11. Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
  12. Forgotten God by Francis Chan
  13. 1776 by David McCullough
  14. The Knowledge of the Holy by A. W. Tozer
  15. Becoming Jane Austen by Jon Spence

Now that I’ve bored you with my life and goals, I’m going to join my family in watching the LOTR (which I want to re-read this year). Happy New Year! May God bless you in abundance this year.

Leave a Reply

