The Finish Line


I saw it. I ran toward it. I passed it. That’s right world, I finished 50,000 words and wrote a novel. I’m not sure what to do with myself. I am totally and completely calm about the whole thing. Which is strange. Usually, I’d be really excited. I mean, I’m excited, but not like Script Frenzy, where I was bouncing off the walls. I suspect that it is because I didn’t finish at 5:30 in morning after staying up all night. I finished at 8:30 PM, with over 3 hours left before the deadline. The adrenaline rush is completely absent. Maybe it’ll hit tomorrow. I don’t know. But I decided, in honor of finishing, that I would post all of my characters’ finest moments. We’ll start in order of how they appear in the story.

Elon:

She sat up straight in her chair. “What do you mean, if you were to become king?”

“Raina, I’m not going to take the thro—“

“No.” She interrupted. “No! We did this so that you could become king!”

He shook his head. “I’m not fit. I would never dream of ruling. I’m selfish and a coward. But you, you are noble and good and born to be a leader.”

Now she was shaking her head, tears flowing rapidly down her face.

“You started this and I have every confidence that you are going to rule with the precision and grace that you led the Acadre.”

“You led them, I just…”

“I helped.” He knelt in front of her. “You are the most brave woman I have ever known and I’m proud to know you. Prouder still to have the privilege of abdicating to such a wonderful, natural-born queen.” He wiped her tears away with a finger. “You are the only person I think I’ve ever truly cared about. And it’s bound to remain that way. I give the throne to you freely in favor of my little thicket and patch of woods. I still can’t stand being around all these people.”

She laughed a little at that. “You promise that you’ll stay for a little while though, right? At least until…”

“I’ll stay until you’re crowned. Then I’ll go back to my seclusion and I’ll come out to visit you every year on your birthday.”

She smiled. “I can’t believe you’re doing this to me. Leaving me like this.”

“You’re surrounded by excellent advisors. Including our foreign diplomat, Paige and your spy master, Stuart.”

“My general Lebrix and…what’s Brant?”

Elon smiled a little to himself at that. “I don’t know, you’ll have to give it some more thought.”

“Guess so.” She yawned. “I guess I’ll go to bed. Not much left to do today.”

“I’m making the announcement tomorrow.” He told her. “So be prepared to make your case if they demand it. I doubt that many will, not even the people of the city.”

She looked at him with sorrow. “Are you sure—“

He silenced her with a hand. “I’ve never been more sure of anything. There’s no doubt that Eila would be proud of me, but I don’t think she’d approve of me taking the throne now. Especially not if she knew you. In fact, I think she’d slap me in the face if I had even thought of it.”

“How could she do that?”

“With her branches.” He rubbed the side of his face as though it hurt. “It was a painful experience.”

Raina’s eyes danced at the picture. “You mean she did it to you once? Why?”

He laughed and shook his head. “I’m not telling you that story. Not tonight. You need sleep and so do I. If I’m making a fancy speech more than once tomorrow, I want a full night’s rest and a good breakfast in the morning.”

“With venison.” Raina promised. “And bread.”

He grinned at her. “And apples?”

She shook her head. “We don’t have any.” She mourned.

He laughed and stood. “To bed.” He paused then awkwardly leaned over her, kissing her on the head. “Good night, little girl.” He whispered and stalked out quickly.

Raina stared after him for a moment, shocked. Then she laughed and rubbed a hand over her forehead.

(Sorry it was so long…)

Raina: This part will be expounded on when I edit, but really, this is when you can tell she’s growing up…

She quickly got dressed in riding clothes and packed her dress into a bag, that would undoubtedly be repacked by her maid and personal guard, Hayanna. Her now grown out black hair was thrown back into tail and out of her face. Her leather boots were on and she was ready. She walked out of her room with the bag. Hayanna stood there ready as well.

“Did you grab the shoes for the coronation?”

Raina blushed in response. “Forgot.”

Hayanna shook her head and went into the room recently vacated and returned soon after with the shoes in question.

“Give me that.” She held her hand out for the bag. “The dress will probably wrinkle the way you packed it.”

Raina handed over the bag and sighed. “Can you believe it? I’m getting a crown today.”

“Yes.” Hayanna smiled as she refolded the dress into the bag. “And it’ll be a real crown too. The craftsman finished. It’s a thing of beauty, you’re going to love it.”

Raina was silent for a moment and then looked slyly at her handmaid.

“Hayanna?”

“Hmm?”

“Has Brant been acting strangely lately?”

Hayanna glanced up. “Why would you say that, miss?”

“You said that you wouldn’t call me ‘miss’ or ‘Majesty’, remember? And because whenever he’s around me he blushes but doesn’t say much and whenever he’s around Elon they look like they’re having another argument.”

“I’m sure it’s nothing.”

“Hayanna…”

“Look, I can’t tell you anything, okay, Raina? Brant made me swear not to say anything yet and what’s more, Elon did as well. Don’t think about it too much, all right?” she sounded annoyed, but Raina knew it was just to put her off of it. She sighed dramatically and then stopped herself.

No more drama, Raina, remember? You’re a queen now. You can’t afford to be dramatic. She turned to the window where four little pots stood. In each were a different color of her ivy plant. She touched the blue one and it wound around her arm affectionately.

“Do you ever wonder what would happen if Elon did become king?”

“Not really. He wouldn’t be a good one.” Hayanna replied. “It’s not in his nature to care for or love people. He’s just…too solitary.”

“I suppose.” The green one was reaching toward her to play now and she moved her arm out unconsciously so that it could wind itself around her arm as well.

Lebrix:

“Everyone listen up.” Lebrix called out. The little pockets of whispers died out. “Everyone has their individual assignments. We’ll be splitting up here. I want you all to remember what we are fighting for. Remember that we are fighting against tyranny and injustice. Remember your families and homes. Remember those who cannot fight for themselves.” He raised his sword into the air.

(Yay! Finally, he sees the big picture! lol…)

Brant:

Instantly Brant and the others were there, grabbing him and running from the stone tent.

“Let them go.” Grimes called to those who would follow. “We don’t want to end the fun yet, do we?”

They got Elon back around the side, but he was losing blood quickly.

“What do we do?” Brant asked him, setting him down. “You’re losing too much blood.”

“Take me to the trees.” Elon panted. His face looked like ash, and he trembled in the fatigue of getting away. “They’ll help me.”

“Come on.” Brant commanded two others. “Grab him and we’ll run ahead. The rest of you, go join Lebrix and help get everyone out of there. The children are still camped in the Dead Zone. If no one has claimed charge of them, they’re your responsibility. Move!” The rest of the men ran toward the battle. Brant and the two others ran, as gently as they could, toward the trees to get their leader help. They reached them in short time, but Elon had black out.

“What do we do now Brant?”

“Lay him down.” They put him on a soft bed of grass and moss. “I guess we just…” he trailed off.

(I know I posted this one before, but it really is his finest moment, at least until I can fully describe the proposal scene. Right now it sucks and is definitely not a good moment for him…)

Paige:

Paige stood cautiously. All three stepped back as Oliver stood.

“I understand.” He said quietly.

You deserve death. You’re lucky.

“Yes, I tend to be.” He twisted and pulled a small dagger from beneath his cloak. He made a move toward Raina but abruptly stopped and jerked. His eyes glazed over and he looked at Elon and Raina, who stood shocked.

“Sorry. Had to try. Find my family. Please.” And then he fell down before them, a dagger in his back. Paige looked supremely pleased with herself.

“I was hoping he’d try. He really didn’t deserve to live. And a dagger in the back seemed the way to go. After all, he stabbed you in the back, didn’t he.” It was rhetorical.

Both Raina and Elon had to take a moment to even their breathing and their heart beats.

“So the mage is dead.” Raina finally said. “That’s one less thing we have to worry about.”

Paige nodded. “We should return to the group.”

Raina glanced at her. “You saved my life. If you hadn’t stabbed him, he would have—“

“Been killed by Elon.” She finished. “Who would not have allowed you to be hurt in any way, shape, or form.”

(So I know that Paige seems totally evil in this scene, but she’s really just glad that she got to him in time. I suppose I could explain that more, but I didn’t so deal.)

Stuart: In my opinion all of his moments are his finest, but I’m posting my favorite.

For a moment they all stood there dumbfounded. Then one particularly large, red-faced man lumbered forward.

“You expect us to believe that you are the leaders of that rat-tat band of rebels?” he spat out. “You two aren’t experienced enough to lead a band of musicians.”

“Oh, they are the leaders of the Acadre, Father.” Stuart was the next to step through the doors. “And they have led this rebellion to victory. As we speak the entire city is inside the palace, unwilling to allow you to continue your tyranny.”

“Those trees,” spat Xinzer, “are pieces of wood. They are there for our use and we may do what we please with them.”

“They are alive, Father, and we have to respect that life!” Stuart shot back.

(You tell him! WOOT! hahaha…Poor Stu, verbally abused his whole life, but now he gets to give what he got! And poor Xinzer. He totally gets his head chopped off.)

Well, that’s it. Hayanna has a few moments as well, but they just aren’t that important…lol. And really Elon’s finest moment didn’t make it on here, because I don’t want to ruin the story for those who want to read it. I hope to finish The Golden Rose during December, but I may just catch up with all of my other work and finals start in two weeks, so we’ll see. I’m kind of lost at the moment and don’t really know what to do with myself. I suppose we’ll find out. This is me, signing off y’all. NaNoWriMo is officially done. I would say, “until next year!” but I don’t think I’m doing it next year…

P.S. Favorite line (which was posted on facebook): “I assure you, sir,” Hayanna hissed in his ear, “that if you make another move, I will end you.”

Ciao!

One thought on “The Finish Line

  1. Juliana says:

    What to do with yourself?
    well…we haven’t read since the first week of November. Thats THREE WEEKS without the HHB.
    and we haven’t had a CPO date in a LONG time.
    and i saw someone reading on youtube. maybe you could do that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

