Kiera Knightley in Pride and Prejudice


I just finished watching this movie and find Mr. Darcy’s character to be an interesting interpretation. Mr. Darcy is not a stupid man, nor is he unintellegent, and yet he is conveyed as both of these…I’m not saying Matthew did a bad job playing him, but I think that the shyness was VASTLY overestimated. He’s very different from the character in the book. He’s not very witty and it doesn’t really seem like he would keep up with Elizabeth very well at all. Her character doesn’t fit well either. She is one of the wittiest, most intellegent, most lively people in the entire book and in the movie it seemed she was constantly in an irate mood until the end when Darcy confessed his love for her. Elizabeth knew the value of keeping her cool in certain situations. Kiera threw decorum out the window, when Lizzie would have merely nodded and tried not to smile. Mr. Bennet didn’t seem like he liked the silliness that surrounded him. In the book he was fond of it and lived to be sport for his neighbors and make fun of them in his turn. It’s his attitude that keeps the two elder girls alive!! lol. I did like Donald Sutherland’s acting. 🙂 I also liked the rest of the sisters and Mrs. Bennet. They all did a fabulous job. Wickham didn’t seem truly evil. The “bad guy” of the film was the circumstances surrounding them that might have prevented their marriage. Bingley was foolish, his sister ridiculous, and WHERE was Mrs. Hurst? I realize that I sound somewhat negative. As a whole, the movie was not bad, but when compared to what it could have been it seems slightly disappointing.

The best part of this movie, as always, was the part when Darcy walks toward Lizzie in the field. His coat flying behind him, his shirt slightly unbuttoned, and that purposeful walk. As though nothing in the world could stop him from making it to her. The way that he looked at her, the way his eyes spoke his complete adoration. SIGH. It was perfect. 😉 I love this scene.

If you watch this movie with no expectations (as I have in the past), it is a delightful rendition of the novel. If you’re a purist…not so much. As I am now somewhere in-between, I’m not really sure what I think of it. It certainly can’t be compared to the other version. If I did, I’m sure I would never watch this version again….

9 thoughts on “Kiera Knightley in Pride and Prejudice

  1. Michelle Magill says:

    Absolutely agree – not my favourite adaptation but I’ve long since stopped thinking of it as an adaptation and jmore like an ‘inspired by’ version and just take it for what it is because the characters are so far removed from the book. Once past the comparisons you can enjoy the look and feel of the movie which is truly lovely – the opening scene alone was gorgeous. My only criticism of the acting is that Keira and Matt spoke ridiculously fast!! I could hardly understand them and I have an English mother!

    Like

  2. Heather says:

    This film actually got me interested in reading P&P and…shock, I know…but I thought it was a great adaptation of the book, in my humble opinion. I actually enjoyed Matthew’s rendition way better than Colin Firth’s and Keira’s better than Jennifer’s, but that’s just me! It’s interesting to see what others think about each adaptation!

    Like

  3. karstrel says:

    I think Kiera captured a lot of Elizabeth’s passion, but again, she lacked the Austen wit. A lot of that was the writers, but she just doesn’t exude intellegence… 🙂

    Like

  4. Colette says:

    I watched this version before I watched Colin Firth’s version, and enjoyed Matthews portrayal much better. I can see though, why the purists would have issues with Kiera’s version of P & P.

    Like

  5. Shannon says:

    I just posted my first “Everything Austen Challenge” post… I reviewed the BBC version of P&P. I much much MUCH prefer the 2005 movie adaptation! While I adore Colin Firth, I liked Matthew Macfadyen’s Darcy a lot better.

    And the end scene? Where he’s walking toward Lizzy? At first, I wanted him to stop when he 1st gets sight of her. But then, I realized… like you said, it was so purposeful, that nothing was going to stop him from getting to her. It’s perfect.

    Like

  6. Lisa says:

    Yep, that field scene makes the movie for me! I did think there were some major flaws with this adaptation but it is so beautiful that I will watch it just for that. And Donald Sutherland is great!

    Like

Leave a Reply

