The Jane Austen Book Club


One of my favorite “almost Jane Austen” movies.  I love this movie because you can relate to the characters and the interesting situations that they find themselves in and, of course, that each character goes back to a Jane Austen novel. There are six people for six books and throughout the movie the characters realize that their lives sort of parallel the novels that they’re reading. The theme, I guess you could call it, is “What would Jane do?” I think that the movie was beautifully directed and put together and I couldn’t be happier with the outcome. Granted I have never read the book, The Jane Austen Book Club, which is a tad different, so I really have nothing to compare it to.

Of course, as an Austen fan, I must critique the small things throughout the movie that were not right (when they spoke of Jane’s works). Through the course of the movie it becomes clear that the screenwriter didn’t actually know what persuasion was about. Or maybe, she preferred to have several interpretations that sort of contradict each other. It seems that the two people who have more redemptive stories (more like Persuasion) couldn’t really get a grasp on the plot. Well, that’s not exactly true. The Sylvia/Daniel plot was more like the actual plot in Persuasion. But when Prudy is trying to get her husband to read it she says, “It’s about these two people, who used to love each other, and how they persuade themselves to give it another try.” I don’t think that’s true at all. I think that Persuasion was more about how Anne Elliot realizes that she is/was too easily persuaded by others. At the end both Anne and Frederick realize they never stopped loving each other. No real persuasion was involved in that part. I’m probably reading way too much into this. It just bothered me a little…lol.

That’s all really. I truly love this movie and it lifts my spirits whenever I watch it. It’s delightful really.

Leave a Reply

