Mr. Darcy’s Diary


Is there ever such a feeling as that of staying up until three in the morning to finish a book? I think not. That’s what happened this morning. I was up with my phone as my light and I read this book from start to finish. It was delightful!!! Ms. Grange put to paper the dynamic and enigmatic character that defines the Darcy we all know and love, making him *gasp* somewhat human. She also does not confine herself to the time limits of Pride and Prejudice, but rather starts shortly before Georgiana’s indiscretion and continues until Darcy has written up a full year. Not only do we meet the infamous Mrs. Younge but we see a glimpse of Eliza and Fitzwilliam in the marriage state and the way that others (including Lady Catherine) may have reacted to that.

The most fascinating part I believe was the transformation of his feelings. In a mere week he went from “she is tolerable” to “she is uncommonly intellegent, I wonder when I will next have the pleasure of her company.” It was amazing to see the thoughts that were behind the proud character, and how he warmed to Elizabeth even in Netherfield. She stayed very true to the characters and did not deviate from Austen’s original prognosis for a second. I felt like it was just an extension of the original work. I thouroughly enjoyed looking at Caroline Bingley through Darcy’s eyes. I also like seeing Anne and Lady Catherine from the view of someone who would have known them better.

Although the style and writing were much like Austen’s there were noticable differences. Certain phrases or descriptions that were very much un-Austen, like “good looks.” That’s a phrase that I doubt Austen would use and looked very much out of place in the book. This is the first time I have EVER read an Austen spin-off so I don’t know if this is to be expected or if other authors have done it better. Also, Darcy smiles far too much. He says, “I smiled at her.” Or “I felt like smiling.” In the first part, at least, it’s a little out of place. Darcy didn’t smile at Elizabeth, that’s why she felt so weird about his staring at her. He could not possibly be happy or enchanted by what he saw!

Overall, I loved the book, and the insights it provides and I would recommend it to anyone who wishes to know Darcy better. His character, his thoughts and his actions are all better explained in a truly Austen-esque fashion, with a few exceptions. 😉

3 thoughts on “Mr. Darcy’s Diary

  1. Lula O says:

    I have this one on my list and and am now really looking forward to it! Mr. Darcy takes a wife also includes a lot of his back history and point of view. Kindof fun. Thanks for the review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

